Dancing

Dancing

No point in dancing around the truth: I am not going to win NaNoWriMo this year. Today I am about 5,000 words short, which means that even if I write the approximate 1,700 words per day necessary to stay even for the next three days, I’d have to somehow flop 5K words on top of that. Not going to happen, despite it being a long weekend (for me). I have things to do, and I’m in pain besides. I’m still going to write this story though. I like it, and it appears to have something previous ones lacked: a plot.

~*~

The Daily Prompt: Dancing

4 responses to “Dancing

  1. I think the more important lesson here is that after a long, frustrating dry spell, you committed to Nano, you came up with a topic, you set aside time specifically for writing, and you *wrote* … and you wrote, and you wrote. And you’re still writing. How fabulous is that?!!

    You aren’t going to “win”? Well not to minimize its significance for those who strive to win, but heavens to Betsy, so what?

    Look what you did. Look what you’re still doing!

    Yay Paula! ⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Peggy is right. You are a good enough writer that this annual exercise is no longer needed for YOU to persuade YOU YOU can do it. Like Dave and I were trying to say the other day on FB, just get on with it. Do like Pynchon or Harper Lee or Salinger, take a decade if you must. But do it. The world is waiting, and if not that, then me, and Peggy and Dave. Ain’t that enough?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re way ahead of me! I didn’t quite get started. ‘sides I think the main thing is to stick to the goal of finishing in one month — if you can’t finish a novel, how about a novelette (a kindle-sized book)? I think it’s great you are writing most days, and have a story with a plot.

    Like

  4. Get a life, loozer. 🙂
    Seriously, I wish I could come up with a plot. I think I’m trying too hard. I don’t know. Anyway, I continue to be amazed that anyone thought November was a good month to try to write 1,667 words a day.

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

