Brave

Coyote

I’ve never been brave. I don’t like risk, unless the odds are greatly in my favor, or the loss won’t mean much. Why is bravery supposedly a virtue, I wonder? Seems like something concocted by the powerful to get pawns to die for them. The animal kingdom shows us that even predators weigh the odds and try to minimize harm to themselves. Coyotes prefer rodents and rabbits to your retriever. Evolution favors those who seek safety in the familiar, not the intrepid who venture alone into the wilderness. Except when civilization has become corrupted with disease. Are we there yet?

~*~

The Daily Prompt: Brave

3 responses to “Brave

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Nabila Fairuz – “The Chronicles of Captain Shelly Manhar” (Pirates/Fantasy/Adventure) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. FWIW, I think many people incorrectly conflate courage with risk-seeking behavior. There are lots of different ways that courage can be expressed. One of my favorites was summed up pretty well by Milton: “They also serve who only stand and wait.”

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

