Housekeeping Notes

A friend said that he had put new blog entries up recently, but I hadn’t seen them in my WordPress feed. I went back to look and this list happened.

  1. I found new blog poasts by other favorite bloggers that I had missed even though I go through my feed daily. Apparently what happens is that poasts are not always appearing as they are timestamped. You can’t assume that just because you read your feed new entries won’t pop in earlier in the line later. This is really annoying!
  2. But what you can do instead of reading your feed the usual way is click to the “manage” tab and sort your bloggers alphabetically. Then under each one it will say the last time they updated, which will give you a clue whether you read that entry or not (unless a blogger updates multiple times daily, eek). If there is no update statement, it’s fair to assume that someone hasn’t blogged in a while and you’re OK. This is sort of like the days of olde when we had the whozit list on the side.
  3. Of course you might not care enough to do that, in which case ignore item 2 above.
  4. If you are considering the switch to the “Managed Tab Feed Read” (MTFR), another positive benefit is that your feed won’t be cluttered with pictures and suggestions, so you get a nice, neat list of blogs instead of a huge pile of crapadoo.
  5. Blogs that are still on Blogger have a different kind of feed source and back in the day I C&P’d that into my WP reader. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t. I don’t know why! Apparently the friend whose poasts I was looking for (remember him? this is a song about him) was one of those bloggers and his poasts were not feeding right. That’s the best I can do for a hi-tech explanation here. (Need lizard halps.) Anyway, none of that matters now because WP has learned that most of us are idiots and has figured out how to grab the feed code itself. So, I searched for friend’s blog in the WP feed searchy bar; WP found it and added it, viola. I didn’t have to go poking around for XML or whatever the eff.
  6. I caught up with friend’s poasts and all is good.
  7. MY DAUGHTER IS GETTING MARRIED IN TWO MONTHS OMG OMG OMG.
  8. I highly recommend using the MTFR instead of the normal WP feed so as not to miss any bloggity goodness, especially if you have a lot of blogs in your feed (I have 279 at the mo). I needed to add this item because (a) I like to have 8 things, and (b) I had already defined MTFR and once you do that you have to use it.

That’s all.

11 responses to “Housekeeping Notes

  1. Yay for daughter! Too late to suggest she run away naow? Thottso. Which dau? #1 or #2?

    You don’t need lizard halps now because WP figured it out for you. Yay for that, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Manage tab not in fone app.

    Like

  3. Congrats! I hope you approve. We have one that we love like another child. The other is a long term boyfriend, so there’s that.
    I wish them a happy life together, hopefully close to where you live!💗❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on dau2’s upcoming wedding!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Best wishes for d2!

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

