Time Pieces

My mother had some old watches and pocket watches she picked up here and there at estate sales and such, and now I have them. I tried to sell them once and was told they had no value, so I keep them tucked away. I’m glad I didn’t get rid of them after all. They’ve grown on me.

This is a plain pocket watch with no cover. It says “Waltham” on the face. This piece is two inches in diameter and feels heavy in my hand.

Time4

This is the back. It has a cool geometrical pattern/logo, but no words.

Time5

This piece is smaller and lighter, about an inch and a half in diameter, but it’s thicker and more complex, as you’ll see. This is the front.

Time6

It flips open to reveal the clock’s face sideways. “Elgin” is printed on the face. The back of the cover says “Keystone” and has a serial number (1194946).

Time10

This is supercool ~ the back opens to show gears and stuff!

Time9

Next up is a ladies’ bracelet watch. It’s very delicate and pretty. It says “Victoria” on the face and nothing on the back. The clasp says “Hadley” with a patent number.

Time1

The last is another bracelet watch, a Bulova. I like it a lot, though its face is scratched up. I might get it cleaned up and working someday so I can wear it for real. I used to wear it anyway, just for fun, but then I decided it was bad luck and stopped.

Time2

The reason this watch is so special is because it’s engraved on the back. I imagine a husband gave it to his wife for Christmas in 1947. I’ve decided he fought in WW2 and she waited for him.

Time3

My mother died today, nine years ago. I love her and miss her every day. Her voice and presence are both still right here, almost, as if she just left the room a few minutes ago. Nothing has changed in all this time.

~*~

The Daily Prompt: Timely

11 responses to “Time Pieces

  1. Good theme on time and how precious it really is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice watches, my husband’s has a few from his Dad that has passed away.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love time pieces of all sorts.. photos and taken apart. I use the pieces in my mixed media collages.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hugs. It’s nice to hold things that she once held and treasured, isn’t it? I have my dad’s Swiss-made timer (looks like a pocket watch) and one of his pocket knives. I like to hold them and imagine him using them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thinking of you and your mom.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you everyone. ❤

    Like

Dazzle me!

