Paused

I am the desert:
My skin is swept with sand
Across a shelf of stone;
My hair is spiked with thorns.

Daylight bakes me into crust;
I release the warmth at night
To a spangled, velvet sky.

I wait for candy-drops of rain,
When scarlet will erupt
From shriveled fingertips.

[Revised from 1989 version]

~*~
The Daily Prompt: Pause

9 responses to “Paused

  1. Every time you post, I think there’s no way you can top the last one. Every time, I’m wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry about the cryptic comment. Meant to say “like!” So much for Internet shortcuts.

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

