A Territorial Story

I wanted to be your moon,
Distant and removed,
But necessary
As gravity;
You were my only focus.

While you tilted elsewhere,
I evolved to revolve,
Resolved to be resolute,
Orbiting in tribute.
But I was too creepy
In my silent devotion—
Round and round,
Full, half, harvest, dark,
Managing your oceans.

I learned to parallel park
By necessity
In the crowded airless
Density
Of nothingness.
I confess,
I was served
The restraining order
Yesterday.

Sometimes moons get distracted
By stars.

~*~

The Daily Prompt: Territory

5 responses to “A Territorial Story

  1. “I confess,
    I was served
    The restraining order
    Yesterday.”

    Uh-huh. I bet the backstory is worth the read too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When territories either collide or overlap, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

