The Search for Nuance

The search for nuance
Came up nil–
Not a single folder spilled
Out a poem or post
In all these years,
Not even a ghost;
No evidence I ever
Used a subtle, filmy
Delicate negligee
Of a word,
A mysterious trail of lace,
Leaving a coy, flirtatious trace,
Instead of my usual
Bludgeons of bluntness.

But it is this, dammit, I scream:
Can’t you see?
My shrieks echo ’round the mountain,
But Narcissus long ago
Fell into the stream,
And everyone else has
Packed up their picnics
And gone home…
It looks like rain.

It’s time to stop yelling, Paula;
Whisper your pain
To the slowly swirling clouds.

~*~

The Daily Prompt: Nuance

12 responses to “The Search for Nuance

  1. bludgeons of bluntness…nice…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Right now I am not thinking of Narcissus, but of Echo, whose voice and spirit pines away.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Poetry seems to cover both screaming and silence.

    I am now recalling Dylan Thomas’ “Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night”. Which is something I need to blog soon.

    Like

  4. “Bludgeons of bluntness.” My posts. I have no nuance.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “But nobody… could see… because… everyone on the island… was sayin’…”

    youtu.be/KvOoR8m0oms

    Like

  6. This is dreamy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks… I wrote it all at once, very early this morning, after a rather sleepless night. I love when a poem simply coalesces almost by itself, effortlessly, just from a word or image. That’s what writing is all about, to me.

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Pingback: Why be a rabbit? Be a snake. | Trash of Pi

  8. “I love when a poem simply coalesces almost by itself, effortlessly, just from a word or image. That’s what writing is all about, to me.” I’m just the opposite in that I get too caught up in the details! That’s why I publish so seldom.

    Like

Dazzle me!

