The Story of The Thing

Every year, for many years, I have had a standing order for The Thing via Mega Corp. This year was no different, except that I found The Thing for one-third the price on Amazon. Since Mega Corp was late in sending The Thing anyway, I called them and said hey I’m gonna order The Thing on Amazon from now on, so don’t send it, ‘k?  I got Mega Product Support on the phone, who said I needed to email Mega Customer Service to deal with this, so I did that.

Mega Customer Service said nope, sorry. See, unless you notify us by such and such a date, we must ship out The Thing. We can’t communicate with Mega Shipping after that date. But what we can do is this… send us the Amazon info, to prove to us you really did find it for less, yada yada, and we’ll send you a return label. When you receive The Thing, just pop it back in the mail and we will pay for return shipping.

I sent Mega Customer Service the Amazon info and waited for my shipping label.

The Thing arrived from Mega Corp.

I waited for the return shipping label. And I waited. And I waited. Weeks of waiting.

(I hadn’t ordered The Thing from Amazon yet.)

I emailed Mega Customer Service to remind them about the shipping label. No reply.

In the meantime, Mega Billing sent me an invoice for The Thing.

I called Mega Product Support to discuss the shipping label I was supposed to receive from Mega Customer Service. They said they’d send it. More weeks wobbled on.

Mega Billing sent another invoice.

I sent another email to nudge Mega Customer Service and told them I spoke to Mega Product Support. I received an apology and a promise that the shipping label would be sent immediately. Nope.

Mega Billing sent a delinquent notice.

This made me mad, so I called Mega Product Support again to express my outrage and to complain that Mega Customer Service never sent my shipping label. How could I return The Thing if I didn’t have the shipping label? The Thing was sitting right here on my desk! I’d love to return The Thing, but I could not! At this point, Mega Product Support said I should simply keep The Thing for no charge and my account would be fully credited. They were very sorry I had to wait so long yada yada.

OK, then. I finally opened The Thing and did what one does with such things that are The Thing. I tossed last year’s version in the trash. I tried to put the whole episode out of my mind and move on.

Closure!

But…

Today I received a final notice from Mega Billing saying they were cutting off my credit and were no longer going to ship The Thing to me ever again.

scream

4 responses to “The Story of The Thing

  1. I hate when Mega Corp wins.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For you, a prolonged ordeal; for various employees of Things R Us, just another almost meaningless detail in another meaningless day at the office.Spring comes. People marry and die. Pinkerton does not return.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think that when you receive a something via USPS and you do not wish to take receipt of the something, you can take it to the post office and say “I refuse this something and want it returned to sender” and maybe you can even require proof from the post office that they returned the something.

    If it was shipped via another carrier, perhaps they have similar rejectiony processes.

    Having received a Thing that took too long to arrive and thus was no longer needed once it did arrive, I attempted to reject it via the USPS but unfortunately they handed it to me along with another Thing that I *did* want and before I realized what they were doing, it was too late to reject it because I signed for it. So I either had to ship it back at my own cost, or pay for it and accept it. I determined it was easier and not much more costly to pay for it and keep it. Alas.

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

