Muscle Memory

Reality recedes
To stardust dreams
And spherical music;
I am more alive when asleep
At our midnight rendezvous.

Your embrace
Sedates me,
Lulls me like
Opium poppies…
An all-consuming peace.

In these drunken moments,
I could love you forever
Without hesitation
Or contemplation,
But alas my bottle is empty now.

Please overwhelm me
With the logical twists
Of your hot pretzel argument,
Until I surrender
To your superior salty wrongness.

If the heart is just a muscle
And love a learned habit,
Then why is it so hard
To break this last recurring
Muscle memory?

~*~

The Daily Prompt: Hesitate

5 responses to “Muscle Memory

  1. I want to know more about this hot pretzel argument.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice tone to that one. I liked it. I think I kinda felt it ;=)

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

