The Lure of Luxury [Dating Story]

It’s been a minute since I treated you to a dating story. Did you think I’d used them all up? Ha ha ha ha. We should be so lucky.

Names and some deets changed to protect the guilty. Also, my memory sucks.

I met this one at the Long Beach Marina. Let’s call him… Benzo cuz he zipped up in a shiny new red MBZ sports car. Hot guy, in good shape, wore jeans, black leather jacket, had a nice smile. We went upstairs for a drink in an upscale bar overlooking the water. So far, so good. (Back then, my headaches weren’t as bad and I still could have occasional alcohol without dying.)

We talked about me for a while. I was only separated then, not divorced, and very much into complaining about my S2BX. Not a great time to date, but we wouldn’t have all these fun stories if I hadn’t, would we? I told Benzo a little about my divorce woes, and he began ranting about his divorce and how his ex-witch stole his business yada. Then he went into a new rage about how college was stupid and a waste of money and I shouldn’t be sending my kids. What?

Despite the few annoying convo twists, I was overall having a good time with Benzo and we ordered some appies and another round of drinks (non-alcoholic for me). Now we were talking about him. He was in real estate, which was our initial one thing in common. What did he do, exactly? Well, he was a bit vague… some sort of partnership dealio with the ex, where she stole everything, as noted. Currently, he was in an “investment pool.”

“What’s that?” I asked. I never care if people think I’m stupid; in fact, I find it amusing.

Benzo babbled about how he and some otter dudes were going to make a shit ton of money on some sketchy properties and bla and bla. I didn’t ask how he managed the new MBZ if this hadn’t happened yet, given that the ex, etc.

“Do you want to live with me in luxury?” he said.

“Oh, sure. Where would we be living?”

“Wherever you like! Beverly Hills or Newport Beach or Santa Barbara. We’ll sleep late and then tell the cook what we want for breakfast. What’s your favorite breakfast?”

“French toast.”

“Fantastic!”

“I’ll need to bring my cat.”

“We’ll have ten cats!”

This guy was some salesman, amirite? He kissed me and it was really nice. I was starting to think about seeing him again, despite his weird anti-college tirade. Who cared what he thought about that? It was totally irrelevant. But I needed to get going ~ it was a weeknight and I had to work the next morning.

The check came. Benzo looked at me. “You’ll never believe it,” he said.

Turned out, Benzo had been so excited to meet me that he forgot his credit card. OMG! And he didn’t carry cash because that’s dangerous. If you’re driving a flash Mercedes you do tend to make yourself a target. Best not to have paper money floating in your pockets to further tempt any bandits. Makes total sense.

So, I paid. Of course. I picked up the tab for the hot guy in the luxury car who has probably made so much money by now from his RE investment pool he is tripping over stacks of cash on the way to his gold-plated toilet every morning.

I didn’t see him again.

Bling car

~*~

Via The Daily Prompt: Luxury

7 responses to “The Lure of Luxury [Dating Story]

  1. Wow. I guess he can afford the MBZ because he doesn’t have to pay for his meals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maybe he should invest in a pair of latex gloves. He may need to wash a lot of dishes.

    Seriously, how hard is it check (so to speak) if one has cash, a checkbook, a CC, or a debit card before heading out or before eating out? Irresponsible.

    I knew someone who went on dates with expensive cars. Sometimes, it was a BMW, sometimes it was a Jaguar, etc. He didn’t really own these cars, he just borrowed them or rented them for the weekend.

    He also liked to boast, brag, and make up things. I remember telling a friend of mine, “He has a lot of stories to tell. Some of them are adventure stories, some of them are incredible, and some are even true”.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wonder how many free meals he got that way. Ugh,

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can imagine being in his shoes, since I’ve done that, oh I dunno, twice in the past decade or two. It would be quite mortifying. He probably found it gratifying. Since he realized he wasn’t going to get you in on his “investment pool,” despite the benzie obviosity of success, he figured he’d settle for getting dinner.

    Like

  5. Oy. Now I have to go back and find more of your dating stories. And then we can compare the crazies out there!

    Like

Dazzle me!

