Spectre

Seriously, don’t even read this at all if you plan on seeing the flick.

Spectre

*****SPOILER ALERT*****

Still here?

You haz been warned.

OK, I saw Spectre yesterday, and it was a lot of fun as Bond movies always are. Craig does an awesome Bond (and I was one of the original skeptics). Overall, I recommend the movie to Bond fans and action movie lovers in general.

But.

I was disappointed in a couple things. Right at the start there was something I considered a faux pas. Bond’s in a hotel room with a beautiful girl and tells her he’ll be right back. He goes off to kill a guy, get chased, leap across rooftops, etc., as he does… and then the film cuts away to the opening song and credits. Wtf? The Bond of old would have kept the date and they should have shown that. (“Now, where were we?”)

Next, I did not like two of the main plot twists. One, Franz the villain turns out to be Bond’s brother via (Bond’s) adoption, which leads to a bunch of babble about Franz killing their father out of jealousy and always having it out for Bond cuz he stole daddy’s attention. Ugh. Yuck. Two, Franz announces that he has taken his mother’s surname and is now called Blofeld (complete with white cat). No! No no no no. This was not a REMAKE of an old 007 flick, but a progression in the life and times of James Bond, and it’s totes uncool for them to grab back a done and dusted bad guy. (Supposedly, Blofeld died at the start of For Your Eyes Only.) What next ~ Scaramanga? Goldfinger? There was no reason not to have a new bad guy with a new name “reboot” Spectre. No reason at all.

I think writers should be a lot more careful with reboots/remakes and the like. Either you stick to the original and update it with cellphones and shit, or just move the hell on and write something new. Certainly don’t take a franchise and grab stale fries from fifty years ago to scatter about a film in the here and now. That’s kind of a cheat, and we know what happens to writers who use cheats a la Stephen King’s Misery.

My last criticism of Spectre is more basic. I object to this kind of SOS writing we’re seeing in action movies lately of having the hero always be a dude who is bravely going against his own government because of one flimsy piece of info, and then it turns out his boss is in cahoots with the villains, or is the biggest villain of all, blah blah blah. Usually Alex Baldwin plays a belligerent general at some point. Then, there are always one or two other peeps in the gov’t who believe in the hero and help him save the world, thereby putting their own careers in jeopardy. Yawn.

I am sick of this storyline altogether. Write something else, dammit.

Other than these minor nits, I enjoyed the movie. If it’s true that Craig is tired of playing 007 and tossing out his tux, I look forward to the next actor (rumored to be Idris Elba).

007

PS: Here are some other reviews I found interesting.

4 responses to “Spectre

  1. I remember being in Junior High and going to the movies to see a bunch of James Bond flicks. We thought they were really cool, back then. To be totally honest, whenever I watch any of these on TV now, inevitably somewhere around the middle of the movie I find myself wondering what they’re doing, and how they got to that point.
    As one of my son’s friends excitedly pointed out when commenting on the sequel to The Matrix: the plot doesn’t even MATTER anymore!
    Dude.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I drew the line at the Brosnan Bond. But I don’t dislike Brosnan generally. He simply was Not Bond. (And neither was Lazenby.) Connery’s Bond was classic. Moore’s Bond was funny. Craig’s Bond is lethally sexy, even tho he seems to have less sex than the otter two.

      Like

  2. I had no idea that this was a Bond film. I thought it was some kind of alternate-world thing like “Blade Runner.” I am so out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OK I’ll watch the next one if Idris Elba is Bond. That might in some small measure in the cosmic scheme of things make up for the fact that Tom Cruise did the Mission Impossible movies.

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

