Coinkydinks in Fiction

Jackpot

Not a fan of ’em. Which is why I’ve had a love/hate relationship with romance novels all along, I guess. The “plots” normally hinge on a series of ridiculous coinkydinks. In my view, the fact that the protags meet at all for the first time (cute or otterwise) is ENOUGH. Just the one. One per story. But that’s not what we get, of course, or there’d be no story. And I’ve done the same in mine too. Really you have to have a meet and meet-again (at the least). Or else what? And that doesn’t even begin to address the myriad other against-the-odds stuffs embedded throughout.

I was up early today (like crazy early) and watched a movie. I have found that if I wake in the middle of the night with a headache and go back to sleep, I will be guaranteed a migraine at 6AM, but if I get up, take aspirin, drink water or cola, I can sometimes get rid of it. Naturally I’ll be exhausted mid-afternoon, oh well. The movie I watched was In Lieu of Flowers, sort of a rom-com, but mostly about the grief process after a romantic partner has died or whatever.

The protags, Eric and Rachel, meet at a grief-support group. OK. But then it turns out Eric’s doctor is Rachel’s father. This is totally unnecessary. But even worse is when E&R encounter each other in the waiting room. Think about that. How many doctors there are and how many patients each doctor has. The odds, IN NEW YORK CITY, of you and your romantic interest having the same doc. Then the odds of you both having appts on the same day about the same time. Boggle.

Of course there’s the usual stupid thing of having people with ordinary jobs in NYC somehow managing to live in fabulous places. I suppose Rachel, a second grade teacher, has doctor-dad subsidizing her BEACH HOUSE, but we never get the scoop on Eric’s financial sitch. Whatever. It was just a fluff movie. For a supposedly broken person, Rachel always manages to look continually gorgeous and smile at every strange man, even a drunk on the subway.

I understand that everything can’t be a masterpiece. It’s fine. I’ve been watching a lot of movies lately. Or should I say starting them. I don’t finish most. I did get to the end of In Lieu because I had nothing else to do.

Writing fiction? Seems unfathomable to me these days, like chasing a blow-up raft that’s floated out to sea. I sort of still see it bobbing out there, but it’s so far away, and I’m tired. I write some poetry though because that’s all language and emotion. I don’t have to grind out sentences and dialog and worry about where it’s going and the point of it all.

No point.

8 responses to “Coinkydinks in Fiction

  1. In my relatively modest dating life, I’ve had serious relationships with two women who worked at the same tiny boutique specialty bicycle shop—and not in Portland. They didn’t work there when I met them, but I thought that was really strange. It wouldn’t have been a fiction-useful coincidence, but it was damned weird.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. …it’s especially weird since I can’t ride a bike, so it’s not as if I was, you know, looking for cyclists.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know. Here’s one for you. The girl I said I had the blind date with but never called her, but wound up meeting her at a party and hitting it off with her before we discovered we were that blind date? Later, while picking her up for a date, I met her uncle, who seemed to think he had met me before but couldn’t quite place me. I did not tell him we met because I had hit his son’s car with mine a few years previous (his fault) and he, the uncle, was a lawyer, who got the whole thing thrown out of court and swept under the rug and I was out a car. Of course, that was a small town, and there were in fact too many coincidences, and, all in all, it would have made for a bad novel.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I generally view the coincidence in romcom as an important element to create the com, but I abhor coincidence in drama, mystery or lit fic. I guess I’m a coincidental bigot.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A lot of coincidences, as well as a lot of characters, can exist in real life that just aren’t believable in fiction. An inconvenient truth, that.

    I watched part of a rom-com last night: Enchanted. I missed the second half but was certain the princess and the lawyer would fall in love while their respective prince and fiance would as well, just from the way they never made the fiance a sympathetic character and the prince was a goof. Nothing to do with coinkydinks, just general rom-com dumbery.

    Like

Dazzle me!

