The Art Forger

I loved The Art Forger by Barbara A. Shapiro. Surprised the hell out of me, it did.

1. It’s in first person, present tense. Eww. But it works well.

2. There are constant flips to a backstory from 3 years ago. Yucky. But it works to build suspense and character.

3. There’s a series of old letters from 100 years ago. OMG noooo! But they are oddly… interesting.

4. A whole bunch of technical stuffs is plastered in about painting technique. Weirdly fascinating. Plus how can I not adore the word “craquelure?”

5. The heroine’s attraction to a certain dude annoys me, but I’m cheering for her anyway. Go figure.

None of the characters are very likeable, in that they haz glaring ethical flaws, but yet I can totally sympathize with the heroine regardless. Eh, probably because of. 🙂

Thing is, I never would have found this book, much less bought and enjoyed it, if it wasn’t for the Kindle Unlimited program. Sure, my first impulse is to grab up some romance novels for the next bout of reading, but sometimes I get /whispers/ a little bored of them. So, I branch out and look at the mysteries and other fiction. Snatched up a rando book of poetry the otter day. Can haz anything I want in the pile for my $10 per month. No like? Throw it back after a few pages. Awesomeness.

Today I began some crazy thing (first person again!) about a crazy spoiled rich girl whose daddy cuts her off when she gets pregnant. It sounds awful, except it’s written in Britspeak, which makes me all squee!

Happy April!

Peeps

3 responses to “The Art Forger

  1. Am I the first to ask if this is an April Fool’s post?
    As a fellow peeps-phile, I’m sure you know they are now available for all occasions. I got some that had a layer of chocolate on the bottom at a post-Xmas Target clearance sale and am miffed that I have been unable to find more similarly and deliciously embellished since.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hate peeps. There, I said it.

    I pulled out of KDP Select so I’m not in KU anymore. The four borrows I got over the 90 day commitment period weren’t enough to make up for being exclusive to Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

