Novelist Fail

This is an interesting piece about someone who tried really hard to market a romance novel and totally failed. We hear so much about the successes (such as the one mentioned in the article), which I am not always sure are 100% true. Like did someone really make a fortune writing about dino sex? Super hard to believe. Regardless, the pieces on supposedly astronomical sales of some crazy thing are published regularly because people like to read them. Some of us get inspired by them.

But it’s also true that misery loves company, so when I read Jowita’s account of how she had a completed RN, maybe not perfectly following the formula but close enough, designed a cover, promoted herself on Twitter, etc., and sold only $8 worth of books… I felt better. After all, I don’t nearly promote my writing as much as Jowita did and I’ve made a lot more than that.

Still, $30/month is hardly worth spending a gazillion more hours writing my RN’s in progress. I kinda like the idea that I could just stop now and do something else. OTOH, I may finish anything I’ve started because OCD.

In the eternal battle between the impetus to inertia and the compulsion to line up All The Things, the smart money is on… ?

5 responses to “Novelist Fail

  1. Man is the only animal to go to the moon. True or False?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep going, though. You are a good writer. I wrote a longer reply and then deleted it because I don’t know what I’m talking about. I would just try to have fun. The phone company paid me a lot of money, so that didn’t need to be fun, but writing probably would.

    Like

  3. I wonder if Eric Garcia knows about this???

    Liked by 1 person

Dazzle me!

