Dark Places

[POSSIBLE SPOILERS FOR THIS GILLIAN FLYNN NOVEL!!!]

*

*

*

I finished this book tonight and gave it 3 stars on Goodreads. Kinda disappointed and I think this will be the last GF book I buy.

I adored Gone Girl, despite the preposterous plot. I simply loved the way Flynn went so deeply into  both protagonists’ mindsets, motivations, backgrounds, etc. She put us right there, not on their shoulders, but behind their masks, down into their twisted souls. We totally perceived everything they did and understood how they processed each bit of data. Their behaviors made sense, given their set of circumstances.

Flynn does all that again in Dark Places, but only for Libby. I could  not relate to Ben very well or understand his behavior. I don’t feel his extreme actions were earned by his circumstances. I also couldn’t relate to Patty or Diondra. They simply made no sense to me, especially Diondra. I guess she was “just a wacko.” We have to accept that. But it’s unsatisfying.

The worst thing though was when we discovered the truth about “that night,” and it came down to a series of unbelievably ridiculous coincidences all occuring in perfect harmony. I was totes disappointed.

I loved the entire scene with Libby, Diondra, and Crystal. Perfectly executed. And the small, predictable action of Libby’s that led to the later big reveal was very clever. But that simply wasn’t enough to overcome the suspension of disbelief required to comprehend Ben’s character and the coincidences.

So, 3 stars for Dark Places, meaning I liked it, but that’s all.

Dazzle me!

