Chasing Amish

In my continuing mission to read a variety of romance subgenres (cowboys and dragons done and dusted), I have now turned to the Amish. Apparently this is quite a big fu… fudgy deal. Justine McDaniel gives a nice overview of the bonnet ripper phenom, which is what inspired me to check it out myself.

The other day, I downloaded four Amish romances for my Kindle (free in Kindle Unlimited, natch ~ you didn’t think I would actually pay for these, right?) and got started.

First book: Fruitful Love by Michelle Eastwood. This is possibly the worst thing I’ve ever read. There was absolutely no plot, no conflict, nothing interesting in any way, shape, or form happening in this story. The characters were boring and had zero personality, no quirks, no flaws, no shiny spots, nothing. Girl meets boy, girl gets boy, the end. WTF? Saving grace: it was super-short.

Second book: An Amish Choice by Diana Morgan. OK, here we have a real story. I liked many things about this book. The protags were surprisingly real and flawed. They were extremely relatable and could have been any religion. The hero is a good man, but speaks impulsively and hurts people’s feelings. This is a problem for him throughout. The heroine is also a good person, but sometimes bitchy and irrational. Both of them are confused and have a hard time figuring out what they really want. Just like it is, you know?

Problems with AAC include POV shifting, typos, and annoying rando paragraph indents. Writers! Use block formatting for Kindle! Indenting looks like crap, and sometimes the uploading process double indents, or otherwise screws things up. Yucky. (I may not have fixed all mine yet, so shhhh.) But these could be (and are) issues with any books and have nothing do do with Amishness.

So, I had one good experience and one bad… and I bailed on the last two. I kinda get the idea now: a lot of baking, a lot of buggying, and a smattering of German.

Danke.

Sexy Amish

5 responses to “Chasing Amish

  1. I am officially astonished that this is a thing. I thought I’d seen it all…and yet, I was so laughably wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For real, one time, I was sitting in a rather seedy coffee shop and a large group of Mennonites came in. Before they were seated, the entire population of the restaurant was staring at one of them–a young woman who, it seemed to me, was the sexiest woman I had ever seen. It took me a (very) long time to decide she was pretty, and sexy, but mostly it was the ultra modest clothing she wore. And, yes, she knew it.

    Like

  3. Are there romances about engineers yet? Oh, wait. Yeah, never mind.

    Like

  4. “Charlie is smitten by her beauty and her inventive genius. Even though” blah blah blah “Charlie can’t keep himself from having wild sex with Eve.”

    Just can’t stop himself, huh? Poor guy. I can totally relate.

    Like

Dazzle me!

