Time To Let Go

I stumbled onto this great article by Anne R. Allen. She discusses some of the protagonists that readers hate. We all know about the villain we secretly (or not so secretly) root for, but it’s important as a writer also to understand the kind of protags a reader does not want to see.

1. The Mary Sue. I never heard of this before ~ the term comes from fanfic (which could explain why). Basically it’s an ordinary person who has a massive amount of strength or wisdom to save the planet and/or attract the hottest supermodel. She (or he) is the author’s fantasy self. Boring!

2. The Special Victim. This protag endures all sorts of horror, but can never do anything about it because that would wreck the storyline. The reader sits there frustrated, urging the dumbass to walk out the open door. (This could also be called “revenge fiction” if the protag is really a stand-in for someone you want to torture in writing.)

3. The Perfect Pat. This is another fantasy writer self ~ a protagonist who does everything perfectly and never has an incorrect or repulsive thought. It’s basically a gilded memoir. More boring than a boring boring thing.

4. The Looky-Loo. Like the annoying non-buyer of real estate, this protag wanders through the story, looking and feeling and hearing and thinking. The writing may be profound and beautiful, even deep and poetic, but NOTHING EVER HAPPENS.

5. The Literal Larry. This is the star of a memoir, where no detail is omitted, no matter how mundane or irrelevant, because “it really was just like that.” Gah.

I will give you one guess which protag is the one I’ve been writing for the last twenty-five years in my fabulous epic novel Motion Sickness.

MS began as a short story where I was mocking an old boss (RIP Tony G) for his goofy dietary prefs. It was a pretty fun story called “Broccoli.” Then I decided to enter a novella contest, so I expanded Broccoli to 25K words. I overlaid it with a theme of drowning and called it “Water.” Later on I decided to squish a couple of new ideas into Water and make it novel-sized. At that point I renamed it “Motion Sickness.”

Never satisfied with the story, I kept tweaking it. Start in a different spot, use new themes such as synesthesia and depression, add in imaginary characters, throw in some hookers, create a love triangle, have a happy ending, no! change it to a sad ending…

But the problem was that my protag simply floated through all this, unchanging. She is an observer, not an actor. She is not a compelling heroine. She watches and snarks, she loves mildly and hates dispassionately. She is detached from everything, including her own neuroses and fears. She is way too much like me ~ i.e., boring as hell.

It’s time to let this go.

5 responses to “Time To Let Go

  1. Ah, good things to know. And Anne R. Allen’s blog is a good read.
    So, no rescuing your story at all?

    Like

  2. I was once given the (good) advice to set it down and come back later. Maybe your heroine, so far, is just the back story. Maybe she will decide to jump in with both feet and get messy and make mistakes and then synthesize her story.

    Like

  3. Keera ~ maybe bits of it can be cannibalized for new stories, but it can’t live on the way it is.

    Roy ~ possibly, or I will just grab the best parts and go with start stories.

    Like

  4. This is why you need to have aliens drop out of the sky (or I use monsters coming out of the forest, but same thing) and attack her right in the middle of a conversation. It forces action. 🙂

    I think Mary Sue and Gary Stu (the male version, which I know because even though I’ve never read or written any fanfic, I speak dork) are the most common. Nobody wants to give their heroes flaws, or if they do they want them to be cute flaws that the reader won’t dislike them for. I guess that’s a better problem than going the other way though. True story: once I had an agent, and I sent him a book I finished, and he called me and said, um, I can’t rep this. I hate all these people. Which was really sad, because at the time I was writing for kids, and all the people he hated were eleven.

    Like

    • Omg Teacake, that’s hilarious! Sorry tho.
      Tidbit of good news: I rescued a couple paras from my story and turned them into a cool pome. Almost done with my second pile of random stuffs. 🙂

      Like

Dazzle me!

