The Bead Goes On

When I was up in Berkeley last week visiting my daughters, we had the idea to go buy some beads and make cool necklaces and things. I love bead stores! I get so excited by all the possibilities. Of course I know nothing about making jewelry, even though I spent a lot of time around age 10 creating a bunch of junk. Some of it wasn’t too bad and I’d wear it, or my mother would. I threw all my stuff out ages ago, but my mom kept a few things. Sharon has a necklace and bracelet I made back in those days ~ she says she likes ’em.

 

Bead2

 

After beading as a kid, I moved on to embroidery and knitting and needlepoint. Even had a run at candle-making and tee-shirt painting and cake-decorating. My impulse to create lives on through my daughters. Diane is a wonderful artist and Sharon is into cooking and making neat stuffs. Here’s the necklace she gave me last week…

 

Bead1

 

 

It was a great visit and vacation. 🙂

8 responses to “The Bead Goes On

  1. Wow. Really nice.

    Like

  2. Pretty beady things! Happy that you had a great time. I loved the stuff you posted to FB from your visit. I loved the menu best of all. ❤

    Like

  3. You’re a Certified Hippy. Paperwork is in the mail.

    Like

  4. Those are so pretty! I’m crafty, too, since I think the 70’s were conducive to such things. Crafting kind of fell by the wayside during the 80’s and 90’s but it’s back in a big way. Yay!!!

    Like

  5. I spent a little time trying to come up with a good bead pun, but I got nothing. Glad you had a good visit!!

    Maybe you should sell some crafty things on Etsy.

    Like

  6. Bead puns are OK, as long as you don’t string too many of them together.

    Like

Dazzle me!

