A Whore’s Breakfast

My new band name.

The first time I remember reading the phrase “a whore’s breakfast” was in Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. Are you old enough to remember when that book was a thing? Good. As I vaguely recall, some mean bastard husband (are there any other kind?) said that to his wife when she and the kids were having birthday cake for breakfast.

I loved the phrase, especially because I’ve been eating cake for breakfast ever since I learned to count calories. Instead of smashing all my calories into an enormous dinner, I often save the dessert for the next day. I don’t like feeling full at bedtime, and it’s fun to look forward to cake (or pie, if you’re one of the weirdos who prefer pie to cake) in the AM.

(Sometimes I have dessert instead of dinner just to mix it up. Yes, I am a wild and crazy chick.)

Urban Dico says that a whore’s breakfast is coffee and a cigarette though. Or possibly a Coke. Hmm. Those just sound like high school breakfasts to me. Not that being in HS and being a whore have to be mutually exclusive.

I prefer to think of cake, especially birthday cake, as the true whore’s breakfast. It’s just so decadent and anti-traditional. Goes against everything your mom told you was Right & Good.

My bosses bought a delicious red velvet cake for my birthday Wednesday and I had a leftover piece for breakfast. Soooo good!

Bdaycake

I hope my pairing of whore and cake in the same poast generates a whole bunch of new bloghits and readers!

12 responses to “A Whore’s Breakfast

  1. Is there an equally descriptive phrase for eating cold pizza for breakfast?

    Like

  2. But it is not healthy! You will die! OMG!!!!!

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday!!
    Coffee and cigarettes was my mom’s breakfast, and lunch, and dinner, and existence.

    Like

  4. The first time I remember reading the phrase “a whore’s breakfast” was in Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. Are you old enough to remember when that book was a thing?

    Is it okay to admit that I love this book? I read it when it first came out and was a *thing* – and I just started reading it again day before yesterday… So funny to run across this poast at just this time.

    I *love* that book. Top pick for my Secret Guilty Pleasures list 😉

    Like

  5. This reminds me of a funny Bill Cosby routine where he described making chocolate cake for breakfast for his kids.

    And pizza for breakfast is classic TMNT.

    Like

  6. And there I was thinking whores ate cornflakes like everyone else!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Say Yes to the Marquess | Light Motifs

Dazzle me!

