Lost Earrings [updated]

I rejoined my gym and lost one of my amethyst earrings. What happens is I semi-change in the car and take off all my jewelry before working out. I put my jewelry in my purse or in my gym bag or in one of my non-sneaker shoes, depending on my whim. Poor purple earring, lost and alone. It was inevitable though… and perhaps it will turn up.

A few weeks ago I noticed a pair of silver earrings were missing. I have a vague memory of putting them somewhere odd, such as a pocket or my wallet. Why? I don’t know. Sadness.

Thirty-plus years ago in Chicago I lost a pair of shamrock earrings when I had a “romantic encounter” with a guy in my office on St. Patrick’s Eve. I went back the next morning (a Saturday) when I realized this, because I didn’t want one of my coworkers to find the earrings on Monday, but alas… gone forever. Turned out that guy was engaged and cheating on his fiancée. And this was before the Internet.

People have different views of the honesty concept. I never thought it was that complicated: tell all the truth and don’t omit anything. (I’m not saying I always do this; I’m saying that’s what I believe honesty is.) But many have the view that it’s OK to lie to strangers, and if one of these peeps becomes a friend or romantic partner, then you are honest if at a certain point you reveal the truth. That may be a lot of things ~ prudent, practical, paranoid ~ but honest? No.

Sometimes I want to be honest in the archival sense, in that I strive to remember something totally clearly and accurately, but that gets harder as I age. Part of this could be due to all my writing and daydreaming. I’ve ripped apart events in my mind and glued them together in new ways to make them more interesting for a story… and then reality shifts and slips away.

I have some jewelry from my mother that I gave to her, which is weird. I don’t know whether I should feel sentimental about these pieces. She gave me gold earrings (XOX) that I’ve been wearing more often ~ I don’t want to lose them. And I have a watch with initials of people I don’t think I know… it’s dated 12/25/47. I wear it all the time lately.

I’m planning to make up a story about it…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

UPDATE: I found my amethyst earring in my car tonight (Feb 20th)! 🙂

4 responses to “Lost Earrings [updated]

  1. I love old watches.

    The thing with lost earrings is, when we lose one, we always save the other. We all do this, right? I have a whole box somewhere of single lonely earrings. But when one sock gets lost, I just face the cold reality and throw the other one away.

    I think the definition of honesty includes intent. I don’t think omission, for example, counts as a lie unless you’re being intentionally misleading. On the other hand, a true statement can be a lie, if a spiteful person uses it out of context or similar, in order to mislead somebody, or cause a misunderstanding/problem/rift, or further the plot of a romance novel.

    Like

  2. I’m not very imaginative when it comes to socks, but I am amazed at the number of solo socks I own, none of which resembles any of the others closely enough to allow me to wear the two of them mismatched. (Yes, people are constantly looking at my feet, and I can’t take that chance.)
    I had no idea there were so many variations of blue, or brown, or of the ribbed pattern at the top. But I keep thinking the odds of the next orphaned sock being just like one of these in my collection must be so high by now that it will all be worth all the inconvenience some day.
    I never throw watches away, either. I have many dead watches. I also have many ballpoint pens some of which surely must be dried up and totally useless. I would throw those away, but of course I would first have to test them all.
    Most of the lies I tell are meant mainly to smooth things over, not to help me get something. It’s just that as I keep learning how things work, (and I am a slow learner,) I have come to realize that if a lie I intend to tell is of the sort that its discovery would make my life worse, I try not to tell it. Then I do one of those lies by omission. I am constantly telling lies by omission.

    Like

  3. The sock thing is weird ~ it even happens to me, a single person who is super-organized. ALIENS!

    I don’t think honesty is always a virtue. There’s no reason to blurt out mean things simply to be truthful. And we all understand the “white lie” compliment. In business, we regularly “lie” and say someone is in a meeting when they’re just working on something more important at the moment and can’t take a new call.

    But that’s not what I mean here. I mean, forex, putting a younger age on your dating site profile in hopes of getting a younger partner. Then you keep the lie going in person for X-amount of time. Suddenly revealing the truth doesn’t make you honest. Peeps will justify this in all sorts of twisted ways… “But I’m so much younger than my chronological age! I look so good and like new music. I don’t wanna get stuck with an old person, wah!” Well, fuck you. Let people make their own decisions based upon true info.

    Another common manipulation is saying you’re divorced when you’re not. At a certain point you confess you haven’t “finished the paperwork.” The reason people do this is because they know real single people often won’t date someone incompletely divorced. So they are deliberately misleading in order to get their own way. That just sucks. And their admission doesn’t make them honest at that point, plus how can you trust anything they say?

    And even in non-romantic friendships, deliberate lying/manipulating is a buzzkill. I guess omission is tricky, but I think most of us upfront types would agree on specifics. Forex… acting like someone’s friend only to get them to go to a party that turns out to be some MLM bullshit. Why not just say you’re looking to expand your candle-slinging business… am I interested? RAWR.

    Like

  4. At the risk of being simply frivolous… socks… cats know where they all are.

    Apparently there’s a website:
    http://www.thespoon.com/socks/

    Like

Dazzle me!

