Her

I saw Her last night. (Who’s on first?)

Unfortunately I didn’t enjoy this movie as much as I thought I would. Joaquin did a nice job and there were some interesting moments, a few laffs, but overall? I had a major problem with the film (besides it being a big batch of romantic downersauce).

And my problem was not with the premise. I can totally understand falling in love with an operating system as opposed to a real person. People are annoying. My problem was as follows. We are to buy a time in the nearish future when an OS has advanced to the point of being like a real person in there, only better. This is not that hard to accept. However!

My problem was with Theodore’s job. In this time of the conscious/empathetic OS that anyone can haz, we are to simultaneously believe there is a need for a company full of apparently well-paid people writing thank-you and other letters for peeps who need help with such things. Are you fucking kidding me? Why can’t a software program do this? But no… we have a whole company full of these writers. And Theo lives in some fancy-schmancy apartment in Los Angeles with an incredible view of the city. I’m so sure.

I’ll buy a time when Scarlett Johansson lives inside your puter and wakes you up in the middle of the night just to say hai, but I can’t buy a time when a writer makes enough money churning out Hallmark schmaltz to live in a posh condo off Wilshire Boulevard.

Give me a break.

8 responses to “Her

  1. I had Scarlett Johansson living in my computer. And I gotta say, being turned down by the real thing is no big deal, but when your laptop tells you to piss off and keep your hands to yourself, it’s just hurtful. (I didn’t even like the TRAILERS to this movie…)

    Like

  2. well said Mr Slash! Anyway SJ has a weak chin..doesn’t anyone notice that?

    Like

  3. I wanted to see that movie. Still do, I guess. I think it may say something pretty relevant to the dating culture and to the online culture, and address some of my favorite weird stuff like the nature of reality and perception–not necessarily all three at the same time. I didn’t know what Theodore’s job was, but I like the realistic notion that people who can write nice thank you letters are probably not the same people who do computers and software. I’d have to see the venn diagram, I take exception to the increase in “content” being put into things by the “techies” who don’t have enough sense to take their noise-cancelling headphones off while driving or who otherwise hide in technological bubbles while out in public.

    Like

  4. D: LOL

    Beautiful: I didn’t notice! 🙂

    Roy: Yes, those weird things were the best parts imo. Re online dating ~ it was funny how Theo was embarrassed at first that he was “involved” with an OS, but then after someone said her friend was seeing an OS, he realized it was acceptable, just like meeting online is now “OK” after many years of it being looked at as the refuge of freaks and losers. Soon my wholly imaginary boyfriend will be welcomed into society, too.

    Like

  5. Haven’t seen it, want to. Found the trailer entrancing.

    Howsomeever, I have a prejudice going in, that men seek a woman who anticipates their needs, who lives herself out as they imagine, and that is Not A Good Thing for anyone. Does the film go there?

    Like

  6. Loved it. Loved every moment and suspended all rational thought to do so. Loved it so much I want to eat up the screenplay and it’s words like perfectly buttered popcorn. Single, couple, confused…speaks loudly to all. Relationships don’t make sense; love is lunacy wrapped in Hallmark cards, large gestures, and special dinners over wine. Makes no damn sense.

    Did I mention I loved it like a two dollar whore?

    Like

  7. “a big batch of romantic downersauce”

    “love is lunacy wrapped in Hallmark cards, large gestures, and special dinners over wine”

    I love you women.

    “when your laptop tells you to piss off and keep your hands to yourself, it’s just” being real with why you have Scarlett Johansson in your computer — or rather a collection of pictures on the hard drive, big boy.

    Like

Dazzle me!

