Bad Sex

No, this isn’t about you.

This is about Britain’s annual Literary Review award ~ and this year’s honor goes to Manil Suri for his scene in The City of Devi. 

Surely supernovas explode that instant, somewhere, in some galaxy. The hut vanishes, and with it the sea and the sands – only Karun’s body, locked with mine, remains. We streak like superheroes past suns and solar systems, we dive through shoals of quarks and atomic nuclei. In celebration of our breakthrough fourth star, statisticians the world over rejoice.

It sounds pretty painful, especially the shoal-diving. But it’s hard to write a good sex scene… they all start sounding the same after a while. In my latest novel (from NaNo and not a romance per se), I did a fade to black. YES, I CONFESS. I did the fade. But it’s better than summoning a team of statisticians to help out, I’m pretty sure.

5 responses to “Bad Sex

  1. Wow, that was pretty…uhmm….yeah, “incoherent” I think is the word I’m going for here. On the upside, if that got published anywhere, I’m beginning to think I’ve got a shot.

    Like

  2. You had me with “statusticians.” Oh baby, oh baby.

    Like

  3. Somewhere in the lost sea-sands of statistically remarkable superhero-streaked supernova climaxes, Edward George Bulwer-Lytton smiles.

    Like

  4. Sex is very difficult to describe, that’s the nut of it (so to speak). Someone asked me the other day to describe a woman’s orgasm, and really, there’s no way to do it, just as there’s no way to describe the feeling of eating cocopops for breakfast – you just have to be there!

    Like

  5. I like me some bad sex, but I can’t find anyone who wants to have it with me.

    Like

Dazzle me!

