Sprinkles CDM

I zipped down to Sprinkles in Corona Del Mar this weekend.

I’ve been so good, working out and eating healthy, but sometimes you just have to give in to temptation. As one of my favorite philosophers says…

The Lord above made [cupcakes] for temptation–but
With a little bit of luck, With a little bit of luck,
When temptation comes you’ll give right in! — Alfred Doolittle, My Fair Lady

Sprinkles2

The bacon-maple was delicious (note the cute little pink piggy on top!), but honestly a tad disappointing. I would have vastly preferred if bacon had not been baked into the cupake itself. The vanilla cake was delish as usual, and maybe would have been OK with tiny pieces of bacon mixed in, but not these giant hunks. The maple frosting was excellent and its super-sweetness very nicely complemented with salty bacon bits, but overall? I’m glad I tried it, but I wouldn’t want it again.

Moving on to the triple cinnamon… this was possibly the best cupcake I’ve had from Sprinkles. As my fans know, the coconut and strawberry are way up there as faves, but this C3 was incredibly nom. There was nothing about it that strayed from total perfection. Spiced buttermilk cake = 10. Cinnamon cream cheese frosting = 10. And the special touch of cinnamon dust = 10.  Simply heavenly.

Also? I’m partial to cinnamon. 🙂

4 responses to “Sprinkles CDM

  1. Sorry. I think bacon should only be a side with eggs. How in the world could it possibly be appropriate to put it in a sweet baked good? It’s wrong, wrong wrong, like when Taco Bell deep-fries tacos, or whatever it is they do. (Or am I thinking of Jack in the Box? I never go there.)

    Like

  2. I also don’t get this insistence on incorporating bacon into everything lately. It’s beneath the dignity of bacon. WE KNOW bacon is awesome. Bacon has nothing to prove. Bacon doesn’t need to go whoring around for attention like some cheap F-list celebrity desperately trying to be noticed by someone other than Celebrity Ghost Stories and Dancing With The Stars, you know?

    I love cinnamon, but that just seems like a lot.

    Like

  3. Oooohhhhhh . . . . you mean KEVIN Bacon..

    Like

  4. Actually I didn’t, it was just a metaphor. But now you mention it, it applies to Kevin Bacon too.

    Also for Paula, I made some vanilla buttercream last weekend for my SIL’s bday cake, and it completely reversed my position on buttercream. I still prefer whipped cream or better yet cream cheese, but it was yummy.

    Like

Dazzle me!

