Hello Mother

I had a dream about Mom the other night. She had made a Great Gatsby tee shirt for me ~ it was dark blue, short sleeved, with white paint squiggles all over that were supposed to be fluffy clouds. Don’t ask me. In the dream, it looked right.

I had shown someone one of my scrapbook photo albums last week and was thinking about my long ago days of arts & crafts. Not sure if this prompted the dream, or what.

A little while ago I opened my Chrome browser (I’ve been using Firefox mostly) and noticed that my old bookmarks were still there, including Baggage Reclaim, my favorite relationship site. The first article was about how some of us struggle to please certain people who have impossible demands and how that’s a never-ending spiral of futility.

The first Unpleasable in your life tends to be that exacting and critical parent or caregiver and if your perspective on their behaviour and how you respond to it hasn’t changed in adulthood, you’re likely to have felt tormented by a similar boss, ‘friend’ or romantic partner. [link]

As always, very interesting bloggery from Natalie, and just in time for Mother’s Day too.

4 responses to “Hello Mother

  1. PostModernSingle

    “People pleasing will cause you to do things for the wrong reasons and ultimately you’re not living your life.”

    Something I know I do and really find hard to not do. Stupid ingrained childhood traits!

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday! Also, your Mother dream may be due to that recent event. That’ll be 120.00, please…

    Like

  3. Now, when I do my hourly check of your blog and see “Hello Mother,” I think of the song which your title paraphrases (Dearest Mudda, dearest Fadda, I am here at . . . Camp Granada . . .) and the song is now endlessly looping through my head and I can’t make it stop. Only you can do that–by putting up a new post. Sorry to bother you with this.

    Like

Dazzle me!

