Sam’s Cupcakes, Part 1

It may surprise you (or not) to learn that Sam’s Club has gourmet cupcakes. This package is 4 for $4.98, which is obviously a Good Deal.

Sams.4

The first cupcake I tried was the carrot, which had light fluffy cake, very tasty, though it could have used a tad more flavor. But the cream cheese frosting was excellent ~ if I were still doing my cupcake table, I’d give it a 10. There was a generous amount and it was soooo buttercreamy nom. Didn’t need the nuts, but they added to the curb appeal. And lookit the adorable carrot!

Sams.carrot2

Next I tried the coconut. As my long-time readers know, I lurve this flavor and am inclined to nudge it up in the ratings just because. Hey, life is unfair! Deal with it, people. But I’d give the Sam’s coconut a 7 in every category. The cake (again) was pleasantly light and fluffy, but a bit bland. The frosting, while all nommed up with coconut, was not buttercream, but whipped vanilla, and had a slightly odd aftertaste. Plus I didn’t think this cupcake was that pretty compared to the others in the package. Surely there could have been a bit of deco to break up the massive snowball effect? Well, judge for yourselves.

Sams.coconut

Gatsby makes a ruling.

Sams.coconut2

OK then. Watch for my review of the other two Sam’s cupcakes coming soon!

5 responses to “Sam’s Cupcakes, Part 1

  1. The red velvet looks nice. I don’t have a Sam’s membership but I go to Costco and I’ve always heard their baked goods are yummy.Haven’t tried them myself though. I just never have a need for that big a cake, you know?

    Like

  2. Are you telling me you haven’t eaten the other two yet? What the hell’s the matter with you, woman? What are you waiting for, a flunkey with a silver salver?

    Like

  3. Hey Paula-

    I’ll be in LA for 2 weeks starting 3/25.  I’ve enjoyed your blog and have made a feeble attempt to start one myself on the same site.  However, being technically challenged in so many ways, I fear it will never be as attractive as yours unless I get some OJT from a pro such as yourself.  Would you be willing and available to let me look over your shoulder as you work?  Of course, I’d also love to see you and catch up at the same time.  If you’re game, respond thru email or fb or linkedin I guess, or you could just call me sometime.  Cell # is 714-875-8457.

    Sue Frederick

    Like

  4. Pingback: Delayed Gratification | Light Motifs

Dazzle me!

