Violence and Chocolate

Merry Christmas, mah peeps.

I’ve been watching a lot of movies with Sharon over the last several days, mostly romcoms bought for cheap off Amazon, but also some rented classics missed over the years. We saw Fight Club last night and I must say that I am now a fan of Brad Pitt. Never liked him at the beginning when every other woman was in lust for his bod, but lately I just think he’s a good actor. That said, I had a really hard time with all the gore in this movie ~ it was just so ewwy and gross.

Yet today we watched Full Metal Jacket, which was hideously violent in the most disturbing ways ~ and I had no problem with it whatsoever. I can’t say I enjoyed FMJ, because that just sounds weird, but it was a damn good movie. I’d sort of like to figure out if there is a logical reason why the gore in FC  bothered me and FMJ did not, or if it’s just my subjective moodiness. The violence in mob movies never bothers me with one exception ~ the horse’s head. I don’t think I need to explain.

Regarding chocolate, I was totally fine all day until I had a bite of a chocolate chip cookie Sharon made and then I was immediately blasted with a migraine. It was totally obvious that there was a connection. Could have been something else in the cookie ~ oats, peanut butter, almond milk, vanilla extra, flour? I think I’m going to do the n0-chocolate experiment again. I don’t even care about choccy that much, only caffeine. The headache was so bad I wished I had a shot ~ it took hours to subside from a pill. But the shots cost so much it’s ridiculous.

Anyway, cool title, no? I must get back to writing soon.

8 responses to “Violence and Chocolate

  1. AD - Fight Club Observer

    Sorry about your chocolate head thing – the Beneficiary whupped up most of the meal for the family gathering, including a white cake with three-layer egg-nog filling heavily dosed with bourbon, salted caramel latte frosting, decorated with fondont snowflakes dusted with literal sugar crystals (not the sprinkle things – we’re talking sea-salt-sized sugar crystals.) Did the whole thing from scratch, and I grabbed a piece just because I figured someone ought to try it out after all that work – it was just orgasmicly (is that a word?) good, and the whole family sugar-overdosed on the thing ’till we were ALL wound up like a three-day watch.

    We don’t need no liquor at OUR gatherings.

    Anyhow, no chocolate in it at all – you think you might be OK with that?

    Violence: Hand-to-hand combat is always more brutal in a personal sense, even if war is more likely to kill you. War tends to be rather depersonalized, which I suspect is less disturbing to the average viewer (although, trust me, not the average participant) than the up-close violence of a street ass-kicking. Ergo, they put war dead up all the time on the news, but warn that the surveillance video of the old man getting his shit kicked in during a mugging “may be disturbing to some viewers.”

    “Fight Club” is a classic. Now that you’ve seen it, you’re going to start seeing a lot of quotes from the movie floating around that you hadn’t noticed before:

    “Warning: If you are reading this then this warning is for you. Every word you read of this useless fine print is another second off your life. Don’t you have other things to do? Is your life so empty that you honestly can’t think of a better way to spend these moments? Or are you so impressed with authority that you give respect and credence to all that claim it? Do you read everything you’re supposed to read? Do you think every thing you’re supposed to think? Buy what you’re told to want? Get out of your apartment. Meet a member of the opposite sex. Stop the excessive shopping and masturbation. Quit your job. Start a fight. Prove you’re alive. If you don’t claim your humanity you will become a statistic. You have been warned- Tyler Durden”

    Like

  2. Very cool title! Haven’t seen FMJ, didn’t like FC. I’ve always thought the violence in “Silverado” was over the top, which is weird because by 3rd viewing, I realized it wasn’t any more violent than other movies.

    Like

    • AD - Texas, By Way Of Tan Son Nhut, Da Nang, Korat, and Nakon Phnom

      You’ve never seen FMJ? Wow. FMJ is one of the trilogy (Apocalypse Now and Platoon being the other two) that can be considered the best Vietnam war movies ever made.

      Scene: Squad sitting around resting in a garrison area near Hue taking a break in fighting during the Tet Offensive. Crazy Larry, sitting with his arm around the recently-made corpse of a VC guerrilla addresses the squad: “These are great days we’re living, bros. We are jolly green giants, walking the Earth with guns. These people we wasted here today are the finest human beings we will ever know. After we rotate back to the world, we’re gonna miss not having anyone around that’s worth shooting.”

      Like

      • Dust, war movies and scenes with battles are not my thing because battles are inevitably too noisy and too confusing. I’ve never been able to keep track of who shoots who, and since it matters whether or not the good guys lose comrades or lose the fight, that’s kind of an important thing to get, yes?

        Like

  3. You want some over the top violence, I got the movie for you – “Shoot Em Up”. It’s Clive Owen at his hottest. I thought I was gonna get up and walk away from that movie, but I ended up glued to the couch in about 5 minutes’ time.

    I will never look at carrots the same.

    Like

  4. I LOVE Fight Club. Love love love it. I love Fincher in general, even though his movies are always bloody, and only about every other one is actually good.

    I think I could manage to live without chocolate, just not sweets altogether.

    Like

Dazzle me!

