Just Like Buttercream

Love Song for Love Songs
by Rafael Campo

A golden age of love songs and we still
can’t get it right. Does your kiss really taste
like butter cream? To me, the moon’s bright face
was neither like a pizza pie nor full;
the Beguine began, but my eyelid twitched.
“No more I love you’s,” someone else assured
us, pouring out her heart, in love (of course)—
what bothers me the most is that high-pitched,
undone whine of “Why am I so alone?”
Such rueful misery is closer to
the truth, but once you turn the lamp down low,
you must admit that he is still the one,
and baby, baby he makes you so dumb
you sing in the shower at the top of your lungs.

3 responses to “Just Like Buttercream

  1. Love this poem. Thanks for posting. I like how dumb love makes me.

    Like

  2. Love to hear more about that, John.

    Just saw a dumb love story at church (Quaker meeting). I’d heard that Dan and Jane were in love. “That’s impossible,” I said. “Dan” (who I’ve known for 20 years or more) “is GAY!”

    Well, that may be. But Dan is suddenly in love with Jane, and Jane with Dan, and the two are glowing, and she is taking on his interests in minor league baseball and he. . . is just happy. I don’t think he cares whether he feels a little dumb or not.

    Like

  3. Chris that Dan and Jane story is pretty interesting. I guess they LOVE being together and that it may or my not involve sex, and if it does who knows if it is with each other?

    Love, as in romantic love, as opposed to oneness with everything love, is a state in which we permit ourselves to free fall through the layers of forced logic that characterize other activities in our lives. It is a free pass we give ourselves to roll around in our emotions in the presence of someone we are fucking apeshit about. This goofy romantic state can remain a part of the best long-term relationships, in my experience. Sex would not be a bad way to nurture this along, although Dan and Jane (perhaps) and others I know preserve this state of carbonation without a sexual element.

    Like

Dazzle me!

