Mommies v Daddies

Now I understand why guys appear “born” knowing about cars.

You know how when mommies go out for a walk with their kids (boys or girls) they point out various things?

“Look, there’s a pretty flower!”

“There’s a kitty!”

“See the bakery? Let’s get a cookie!”

That’s not what daddies do. I went to dinner in Long Beach last night and had to park several blocks from the restaurant. As I was walking, a daddy was behind me with his little boy. This is how the daddy’s conversation went:

“There’s a BMW.”

“That’s an Audi.”

“This is a Lexus.”

And there you have it.

12 responses to “Mommies v Daddies

  1. This would not happen where I live, the luxury car per driver ratio being way lower. So the pointing shifts to historic reference points:

    “That’s just like the first car I ever had.”
    “I had that car when I met your mother.”

    Like that.

    Like

  2. Nor where I live. “See this here? Ford F-150. That there’s a GM. Ain’t got no torque. ‘N there’s one o’ them sissy Tie-yodas what don’t burn gasoline. ‘S’why Daddy got laid off at the refinery and you ain’t got no toys this Christmas.”

    Like

  3. LOL @ both a youze! This was Belmont Shore, a ritzy area with beautiful homes. But a lot of the storefronts had “for lease” signs and some office buildings stood completely empty, so idk how long people will be able to afford those kind of cars there.

    Like

  4. It’s good that some kids have dads to push them along, right? And the dads teach them dad stuff, what would you expect? I brought up my two by staying at home with them all the time from four months on, and I reckon that influence was good for them, because all the women’s stuff they suck up like sponges the rest of the time. Babies and little kids are swamped by women even if they’re home with daddy, so a little bit of balance can only be a good thing. I will never regret the chance I had to do that, and I hope they get some inkling later that it was beneficial. At least it didn’t hurt.

    PS: I couldn’t tell one car from another if they all ran me over one by one. Never cared about cars, never will. My boy can talk your ears of about Ferraris and shit, though. Don’t know where he gets it from.

    Like

  5. HA! If you think the Shore’s ritzy, you’d choke if you saw some of the cribs in MY ‘hood! Some of the spendiest real estate in town is in Bluff Park!

    Where’d you eat? Normally I avoid the Shore, but summer will be over eventually and it won’t be so hard to park over there.

    Like

  6. Alan’s right, (as usual.) You have to admit, Paula, that this post could have started out, “Now I understand why girls appear “born” knowing about cupcakes.” Then switch a couple of paragraphs around, a little rewording, and you have the counterpoint.
    I remember telling my son to touch the bottom of the shaving cream can to the hand towel and turn it just a little, before setting it down so it won’t leave a rust ring on the counter-top. I hope that bit of advice keeps him out of trouble, at least once in awhile. Now he shaves with one of those hi-tech 3-blade throw-aways with the “shaving gel” impregnated into the glider below the blades. What a world.

    Like

  7. Oh yah, I do agree… NOT that I want to get into a thing about it being better for children to have two parents, different genders influencing them, but if they do have that, it’s good, all other factors bla de bla.

    Like

  8. I never, ever knew the shaving cream can trick. D’oh!

    When I was nineteen or so I talked to my father about cars and hot rods and what I wanted to build. He just stared uncomprehendingly.

    In hindsight, I wouldn’t mind at all having done what Alan did.

    Like

  9. Kids with two daddies or two mommies also get a variety of input, though it might be hard to classify in sexist terms. One will be all theatrical but grew up on a farm like Cam, and the other is a spoiled little rich kid like Mitchell, who knows all about … lawyering. Anyway the point being, there aren’t just two adults in a child’s life. And kids with knowledge — and lore! there’s a great underused word — are like dogs and everything: they’ll eat whatever’s put down in front of them and still be looking for more.

    Like

  10. all other factors bla de bla

    And that’s probably a lot. I don’t think that aside from the obvious observations that are made about raising children, and some of the more blatant genetic traits that we can point to, we have the slightest idea how a personality is formed. As much as anything else, we are all products of our culture, as well. Might as well go by astrology.

    Like

  11. I grew up in a car house: brothers who are mechanics and Dad who sold cars. Our Memorial Day ritual didn’t involve picnics or parades, but every radio in the house and the TV tuned to Indy 500, Friday nights at the races, and Dad trying to teach me to identify race car engines by the sound (That’s a Chevy, that’s a Ford, etc. The first place I was actually able to do this accurately was at Indy in ’94, where the Mercedes motors being run by Emerson Fittipaldi and “Little” Al Unser sounded like jets.) I would be more excited if someone gave me a 67 ‘vette than a $100,000 crocodile Birkin.

    Like

Dazzle me!

