Summer of 1973

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think so anyway. So I would have been 12. Found this while packing up Dad’s clothing and stuff yesterday. My mom had a couple boxes of random old photos separated from the rest, who knows why. That was our backyard in NJ; we had a weeping willow tree. And a creek. And a dog. Like normal people.

I drove Dad to his new place. He was in a good mood, though he thought we were in Canada. He’s been thinking that for a few days. Dunno why. The nurses were all sweet to him and he didn’t seem to notice that the two other patients out in the main room were completely out of their minds.

I spent quite a bit of time cleaning up his place to get it looking better to sell. My mom had so much crap, unbelievable. I’m just decluttering, throwing stuff out, which all takes a while. Maybe I’ll find something valuable, ha ha.

At least Dad’s safe now.

8 responses to “Summer of 1973

  1. Man, thast’s rough. Cleaning out the stuff your parents accumulated, well, it’s taking me forever. I have boxes and boxes and boxes of which some contents have been not thrown away for decades, far be it for me to start now, right?

    Like

  2. Nice photo but sad post and a good reminder that I have GOT to clean my office. I pity anyone who might have to deal with my private jungle.

    On a brighter note though dementia sure would cut down on travel costs.

    Like

  3. When my mom went into assisted living, we donated her stuff to some “swap shop” at the dump in the town where my cousin lives. People were taking it out of my hands as I got out of the car. I’m not particularly sentimental, but I kept thinking, “Let me put it all the way down first before you take it, so I can complete whatever process this is that I’m experiencing. ‘Kay? Yeesh.”

    Like

  4. Did I miss that this was coming? I mean, it was clear that it would be necessary but I don’t recall reading about you going through the difficult process of deciding and visiting places and persuading.

    What a hard time for everyone, and what a relief that your dad is safe at least.

    And what a sweet leggy girl standing next to her daddy there! And still standing next to him.

    Like

  5. I had to move quickly — he was wandering off in his PJs, didn’t understand where he lived, what was “his” anymore. He couldn’t stay alone another week. With Dad’s limited funds, we had little room to maneuver, and this place was recommended via a govt agency, so I am fully confident. 🙂 Srsly, it is a big, clean, beautiful house, staffed with cheerful, competent people.

    Like

  6. I am glad he’s safe.

    Like

  7. Good luck with everything. Glad you got your dad taken care of.

    Like

  8. I’m glad. That must be a relief for you, to know he’s safe.

    I’m not looking forward to clearing out my Dad’s house when the time comes. He could give packrats lessons.

    Like

Dazzle me!

